1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for a new phone under £150

Discussion in 'Which China Phone Should I Buy?' started by stu1872, May 14, 2017.

Share This Page

1. stu1872

By:stu1872May 14, 2017

United Kingdom
    Hi my name is Stuart (Stu) and i am looking for a new phone due to my Xperia Z1 compact's power button giving up the ghost.

This phone will be for me to use at work so i am not looking to spend too much on it, my budget is £150 max.

I have used a Chinese made phone before which was a Jiayu G4s. It was alright to use as my work phone tbh but the speakers failed on it and i could not find any spare parts so i couldn't fix it.

As i work in construction my phones take quite a beating so i looked at a rugged phone like the Nomu S20. It was within my budget but after some research into the device it is claimed to carry a Triada trojan virus on the stock firmware and there is no other firmware to replace it with. The S10 also comes with this virus so iam staying well clear of Nomu tbh.

I have over the last couple of days been looking at the Xiaomi range of devices. They mostly seem to be running with snapdragon/Adreno chips and have half decent screens. They are not rugged but as they are not expensive i can handle that. I will be after a screen no bigger than 5" so i have been looking mostly at the Redmi 4.

There seems to be a good few different variants of the Redmi 4 with different internals. There is the 4, 4A, 4 Prime, 4 Pro and 4x. I think the 4x is the newest version but i am not sure if it is the best one out of the range. I will be after the one with the best internals and screen tbh.

Does anyone have a Xiaomi Redmi 4. If so What are your opinions on it and the best place to buy price wise?

Are there any devices i have missed that will compete with the Redmi 4 for the specs and price?

mrsim likes this.
  2. stu1872

United Kingdom